Accused of Sexual Assault?
Trust in a Dedicated Jonesboro Criminal Defense Lawyer
Sexual assault has numerous variations in the Arkansas criminal code. Depending
on ages, relationships, and even employment of the alleged victims and
perpetrators, the severity of this offense can vary. All sexual assault
charges, however, are felonies and require aggressive and dedicated legal
representation to dispel.
Our dedicated legal team at
Ford & Cook, PLC has more than 30 years of collective legal experience. We recognize the
gravity of these charges and proactively work to prepare a staunch defense
on your behalf. This includes staying ahead of any publicity the case
might have and ensuring that your reputation and rights are protected
by a thorough and assertive presentation of the facts.
Get a proven advocate by your side during this difficult time.
Contact us today to get started.
Sexual Assault Penalties
Ark. Code § 5-14-124 through 5-14-127 describes sexual assault as
engaging "in sexual intercourse or deviate sexual activity with another
person." These offenses are organized into four different degrees
of severity, each categorized as a different felony class.
Maximum sexual assault penalties in Arkansas can include:
- Fourth degree (Class D felony) - six years in prison and $10,000 in fines
- Third degree (Class C felony) - 10 years in prison and $10,000 in fines
- Second degree (Class B felony) - 20 years in prison and $15,000 in fines
- First degree (Class A felony) - 30 years in prison and $15,000 in fines
For more specific information on your charge and what potential penalties
you could be facing, contact our team at Ford & Cook, PLC. We are
well-versed in handling these sensitive cases and know precisely what
is required to best pursue a reduction or dismissal on your behalf.
Don't hesitate to start fighting for your future. Explore your options with a
free case evaluation with a knowledgeable Jonesboro criminal defense attorney.