Divorce in Jonesboro, Arkansas
Sympathetic & Compassionate Legal Counsel
Simply put, every divorce is different. While some marriages end in a relatively
amicable manner, others can quickly turn into a combative situation that
causes stress, pain, and confusion for all who are involved. At Ford &
Cook, PLC, we completely sympathize with the emotionally delicate and
sensitive nature of divorce, and are here to offer compassionate support
for our clients as we remain by their side during the process.
Our Jonesboro family law attorneys have an in-depth knowledge of divorce
law, and are dedicated to representing your interests as we pursue the
best course of action for your unique situation.
Some common legal issues involved in a divorce case include:
- Division of property and assets
- Matters of child custody and visitation rights
- Child support payments
- Alimony payments
In order to file for divorce in Arkansas, you need to first meet the state’s
residency requirement. The state recognizes both standard marriages and
what are considered to be covenant marriages, in which a couple takes
an oath of understanding that marriage is a life-long commitment and there
are more limited grounds for later seeking divorce.
For standard marriages, residency is established if either you or your
spouse lived in Arkansas for the previous 60 days leading up to filing.
Additionally, either you or your spouse must continue to live in the state
for a total of at least three months by the time the divorce is finalized.
For covenant marriages, residency is established if you or your spouse
are currently living in the state. However, if the grounds for divorce
occurred din another state, residency is established if you or your spouse
lived in Arkansas before the grounds occurred and one spouse currently
living in the state at the time of filing.
Grounds for Divorce
As soon as residency is established, the following step is to file a complaint
for divorce in the county in which you live. If you are a nonresident,
you must file in the county where your spouse resides. In the complaint,
you must determine the grounds for divorce.
In regards to standard marriages, the state allows for both fault and no-fault
grounds for divorce. Fault grounds include adultery, cruel treatment,
habitual drinking, a felony conviction, impotence, financial abandonment,
and irreconcilable differences. A spouse can file under the no-fault grounds
of living separate and apart from the other spouse for 18 months.
For covenant marriages, the same grounds for fault are recognized. However,
the separation period for no-fault divorce is two years form the date
of the separation judgment, or two and a half years if minor children
Filing for Divorce
Once you finish filing the complaint, your spouse will receive a copy of
the document and personally notified of the divorce—also known as
the service of process. As soon as your spouse has been served, he or
she has 30 days to respond to the complaint in writing. Once the response
has been filed, or your spouse fails to respond in a timely manner, the
divorce can proceed.
While you are waiting for the final divorce hearing, you may request temporary
orders related to property division, alimony, as well as child custody
and support. Furthermore, you may attempt to reach an agreement with your
spouse on these matters before trial.
Representing Your Best Interests
With so many important decisions to make and so much at stake, you may
feel overwhelmed and not know how to proceed with the legal process. Ford
& Cook, PLC is here to ease your concerns, answer any questions, and
aggressively represent your best interests.
To discuss your options during an
initial case evaluation, call us today at (870) 853-3621!